Friday, February 24, 2017

If You Love Downton Abbey


Ever since Downton Abbey ended, there's been a bit of a hole left behind. No show has really filled the void, but I have found some books as well as other TV shows that have a similar vibe.  Here are a few of my favorites with links to my reviews:

Adult Fiction:


Rutherford Park by Elizabeth Cooke
The American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin
The Girl in the Castle by Santa Montefiore
Belgravia by Julian Fellowes
Ross Poldark by Winston Graham



The Distant Hours by Kate Morton
The Ashford Affair by Lauren Willig
A Year in the Life of Downton Abbey by Jessica Fellowes (or any of the other TV show inspired books)
Cavendon Hall by Barbara Taylor Bradford
An American Duchess by Sharon Page


YA Novels:


Wentworth Hall by Abby Grahame
Manor of Secrets by Katherine Longshore
Cinders & Sapphires by Leila Rasheed
The Heiresses by Alison Rushby



To Be Read Pile:
(I have many of these Downton Abbey-esqe books on my TBR list!)

Summerset Abbey by T.J. Brown
Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey by the Countess of Carnarvon
The House at Riverton by Kate Morton
Below Stairs by Margaret Powell
Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh
Longbourn by Jo Baker
Somewhere in France by Jennifer Robson
Habits of the House by Fay Weldon
The Summer Before the War by Helen Simonsson


TV Shows That Are Similar: 


War & Peace
Doctor Thorne


Have you read any of these books or watched these shows? What are some of your favorite novels or shows that are in the same vein as Downton Abbey? Be sure to let me know in the comments below. 

4 comments:

  1. I was super excited to hear about the Downton Abbey prequel that Julian Fellowes is planning this year. I have also heard strong rumors that there is going to be a movie involving the original cast. In the meantime these would be great books to read. I still haven't read Belgravia or The Girl in the Castle. I loved Doctor Thorne and was glad to see it featured here. Longbourn and The Summer Before the War were also excellent.

    So far I haven't found a show to take Downton Abbey's place though PBS keeps trying. I was pretty disappointed with Victoria. I wonder what ever happened with that show that Fellowes was supposed to be doing for NBC (or was it ABC).

    Great list!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes! I just found out about that! I would love for a prequel as well as movie. I think you will enjoy Belgravia as well as Girl in the Castle. Both great historical reads. I really enjoyed Doctor Thorne too! I will definitely check out Longbourn and The Summer Before the War - I love the sound of both of them. I agree. I didn't even feature Victoria here, b/c I think it has been disappointing, which is a shame b/c the book was pretty entertaining. I haven't heard about a show for NBC or ABC in awhile, but I hope they come up with something soon. I sure miss DA! Thanks for visiting, Christina!

      Delete
  2. I haven't read any of these, Christina, but I do miss Downton so, so much!! I think it might be time for a full rewatch soon. I'll have to try some of these out, too! And OOOOOOHHHH, a prequel and movie would be amazing!! I hadn't heard anything about that!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too, Becky! I would love to do a re-watch. I did last year before the final season. It was so much fun! I agree. A movie and a prequel would be fantastic. Thanks for visiting!

      Delete

I really appreciate your comments. Thank you!

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 
Design by: Designer Blogs