Friday, December 2, 2016

Book Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Pages: 369
Genre: Adult Fiction
Pub. Date: December 31, 2012
Publisher: Viking
Source: Personal Copy
Other Books By Author: One Plus One
My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars 

Goodreads says, "They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .  Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.  Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.  A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?"



Louisa Clark is your average girl-next-door. She has a steady boyfriend, lives at home with her parents, and never really leaves her local English village. When her job at the cafe comes to an end due to its closure, Louisa looks for a new job and finds one as a caretaker.  She must assist Will Traynor, a former successful businessman who is now confined to a wheelchair after a horrific accident.  Will used to be a financial wizard, an adventurer, a world traveler, and pretty much a larger than life sort of person.  Now he is devastatingly stuck in his wheelchair and must rely on other people to do just about everything for him.  Because of this, he is pretty angry and morose; he pushes people away, including his family. Enter Louisa, who is pretty much the opposite. She's vivacious, bubbly, chatty, and her clothing is wildly eccentric.  Can Louisa pull Will out his depression or is it too late?  Or will Will be the one to change Louisa's life forever?  Me Before You by Jojo Moyes is the kind of book that resonates with you long after you finish it. You think a lot about the characters and the story when you aren't reading it and it makes you feel many different emotions.

I loved the character of Louisa in Me Before You. She's just the kind of character that I really gravitate towards and find very interesting.  Although at times her home situation (her sister!) and her boyfriend really frustrated me, it didn't stop me from truly caring about her.  Once she started to explore her possibilities and truly live a little, thanks to Will's influence, I loved her journey even more.


Oh, Will. He's seriously one of the best characters ever. Moyes does such a great job creating such a multi-faceted character and one that truly tugs on your heartstrings. I think I liked him more than I liked Louisa, if that is even possible! I was feeling every last emotion right along side of him - his frustration, his sadness, his deep despair, his joy, his jealousy...every last one.


I loved the unconventional romance Moyes depicted in Me Before You. You sort of know where things are going with the romance, but it's the slow burn and their friendship that truly captured my heart. I wanted Will and Louisa to ride off into the sunset together, but things are really complicated for Will. It made me think about the things we do for the people we love and at what costs.


Everyone and their mother recommended Me Before You to me, so I am glad that I found time to read it this year. If you have put it off, because you weren't so sure about it due to all the hype, there's nothing to worry about. Me Before You doesn't disappoint, but it will break your heart slowly and deliciously as only the best books do.



8 comments:

  1. Wonderful review! I'm glad you liked the book. Are you planning to read the sequel?

    I read it a few years ago for book group. It was definitely an emotional reading experience.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have read some mixed reviews for the sequel, but I am intrigued by it and would love to revisit the characters. Since you liked it, perhaps I'll get it from the library. Thanks for visiting, Christina!

      Delete
  2. Count me among those readers who liked this book, too. I haven’t watched the movie adaptation yet, and I didn’t read the sequel, and I’m not sure that I will.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm glad you enjoyed it as well! I just saw the movie this weekend and it was well done. I love Emilia Clarke. Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  3. I loved this book. Ironically enough, it was life affirming.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too. It was such a great read. Did you read the sequel? Thanks for visiting, Joy!

      Delete
  4. Great review! I absolutely loved this book, and for many of the same reasons you mentioned. I also really enjoyed Will's character. And omg I wanted to punch Louisa's sister more than once during the book. Have you read the sequel? I enjoyed it as well.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes! Louisa's sister was really frustrating,but in the movie she was much easier to handle. Interesting how that works out! I have not read the sequel, but I will have to check it out sometime. Thanks for visiting, Katie!

      Delete

I really appreciate your comments. Thank you!

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 
Design by: Designer Blogs