Wednesday, September 7, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday: Bad Blood

This is a weekly meme hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine.  "Waiting on Wednesday" spotlights upcoming releases that I'm eagerly anticipating.

Bad Blood by Demitria Lunetta
Pub. Date: March 14, 2016



Goodreads says, "A girl discovers a family secret and a past full of magic that could both save her and put her in mortal danger in this suspenseful novel that’s perfect for fans of Katie Alender and Natasha Preston.  All sixteen-year-old Heather MacNair wants is to feel normal, to shed the intense paranoia she’s worn all year like a scratchy sweater. After her compulsion to self-harm came to light, Heather was kept under her doctor’s watchful eye. Her family thinks she’s better—and there’s nothing she wants more than for that to be true. She still can’t believe she’s allowed to spend her summer vacation as she always does: at her aunt’s home in Scotland, where she has lots of happy memories. Far away from all her problems save one: she can’t stop carving the Celtic knot that haunts her dreams into her skin.  Good friends and boys with Scottish accents can cure almost anything…except nightmares. Heather can’t stop dreaming about two sisters from centuries ago, twins Prudence and Primrose, who somehow seem tied to her own life. Their presence lurks just beneath the surface of her consciousness, sending ripples through what should be a peaceful summer. The twins might hold the key to putting Heather’s soul at rest…or they could slice her future deeper than any knife."

You had me at Scotland. There's been a lot of books coming out with settings in Scotland. I am not complaining; I am just really intrigued by this. Is it the Outlander effect? Not sure, but whatever it is, I approve! What do you guys think?

18 comments:

  1. This sounds like something Michelle Zink would write. I hope it lives up to the description! I also am fascinated by Scotland and a Scottish setting, especially for historical fiction.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Good call with the Zink comparison! Me too, Christina. LOVE a good Scottish or Irish setting. Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  2. Oh! I'm definitely looking forward to reading this one as well! There definitely are not enough books set in Scotland. I must have! :):) Great pick!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree...I'll never tire of this setting. Thanks for visiting, Christy!

      Delete
  3. I seriously LOVE the cover for this <3 Also, sounds amazing (agree with Christina sounds like something Michelle would write). Haven;t heard of it before but I'm glad you put it on my radar :)

    If you have a moment here is my WoW

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too. Love the cover! You guys are right about the Michelle Zink vibe. I'm glad you like the sound of it, Tiffany. Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  4. YES!!!! I couldn't be more excited for this one Christina! Anything set in Scotland or Ireland is an auto-read for me:)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree..love both of those settings! Thanks for visiting, Jenny!

      Delete
  5. WOAH, I did not know that Demitria had a new book publishing soon! I read her debut duology - it was okay for me, but definitely intriguing. I hope you enjoy this book when you get a chance to read it!

    Have a fabulous week. :)

    Check out my WoW post!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have never read this author before...definitely looking forward to checking this book out though. Thanks for visiting, Alyssa!

      Delete
  6. It all sounds good until the self-harm part. I don't know if I can deal. I hope you'll enjoy, though!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hear you...that's always tough topic. Thanks for visiting, Joy!

      Delete
  7. This sounds really good! And now I'm singing the song.....

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Haha. Yes! I'm glad you agree, Carrie. Thanks for dropping by.

      Delete
  8. Yes!!! Very excited for this one, too. I'm with you, anything set in Scotland catches my eye!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. YES! I just need to visit now. Someday! :) Thanks for visiting, Becky!

      Delete
  9. This definitely sounds interesting. I've seen the cover, but hadn't read the synopsis. Great pick!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love the cover...so eye catching! Thanks for visiting, Natalie!

      Delete

I really appreciate your comments. Thank you!

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 
Design by: Designer Blogs