Wednesday, September 16, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Salt to the Sea

This is a weekly meme hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine.  "Waiting on Wednesday" spotlights upcoming releases that I'm eagerly anticipating.

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
Pub. Date: February 9, 2016


Goodreads says, "In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer toward safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's critically acclaimed #1 New York Times bestseller Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours."
Wow! Doesn't this sound amazing? I loved Sepetys' Out of the Easy, so I can't wait to read this book. (I still need to read Between Shades of Gray. I know, I know...I really should read it soon!) What do you guys think?

16 comments:

  1. This one is totally on my wish list! Love that cover too!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too, Leanna! I'm glad you agree. Thanks for dropping by.

      Delete
  2. I am looking forward to this one too. It sounds amazing. I believe I read somewhere that Joana is the cousin of Lina from Between Shades of Gray. I hope you get a chance to read that soon.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am dying to read Between Shades of Gray. Hopefully I can read it before this one. Thanks for visiting, Christina!

      Delete
  3. Wow, great pick Christina! I'm liking the survive-this-tragedy vibe of this book. This sounds really interesting so I'm checking this out. :)

    Fiona | A Girl Between the Pages
    Latest post: Book Blitz: Queen of Always (Stolen Empire #3) by Sherry Ficklin + Queen of Tomorrow (Stolen Empire #2) GIVEAWAY!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Fiona! I'm glad you agree. Thanks for visiting.

      Delete
  4. Great pick! I've only read a few historical fiction novels and really enjoyed them. This sounds like something I would enjoy as well. Thanks for sharing!!

    My WoW: http://www.jacquesbooknook.blogspot.com/2015/09/waiting-on-wednesday-heir-and-spare-by.html

    ReplyDelete
  5. Gorgeous cover and blurb! I haven't yet read this author, but I am now intrigued. Here's mine: “THE SECRET LIFE OF ANNA BLANC”

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Laurel. I'm glad you agree and thanks for dropping by.

      Delete
  6. It does sound amazing and I really liked Out of the Easy. Definitely excited to read this one. Great pick!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Natalie! I loved Out of the Easy as well. Thanks for visiting.

      Delete
  7. I think it sounds exciting, Christina!! Thanks for sharing this one!

    ReplyDelete
  8. This sounds fantastic! I just got it recently from Edelweiss, so hopefully I'll get to it soon. Great pick!

    Michelle @ Michelle's Minions

    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Awesome, Michelle! I will have to check it out on Edelweiss. Thanks for visiting!

      Delete

I really appreciate your comments. Thank you!

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 
Design by: Designer Blogs