Wednesday, March 29, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: The Summer House

This is a weekly meme hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine.  "Waiting on Wednesday" spotlights upcoming releases that I'm eagerly anticipating.

The Summer House by Hannah McKinnon
Pub. Date: June 6, 2017

Goodreads says, "When Flossy Merrill summons her children to the beloved family beach house to celebrate their father’s eightieth birthday, both cherished memories and long-kept secrets come to light in this charming and lyrical novel from the author of The Lake Season and Mystic Summer.   Flossy Merrill has managed to—somewhat begrudgingly—gather her three ungrateful grown children from their dysfunctional lives for a summer reunion at the family’s Rhode Island beach house. Clementine, her youngest child and a young mother of two small children, has caused Flossy the most worry after enduring a tragically life-altering year. But Samuel and his partner Evan are not far behind in their ability to alarm: their prospective adoption search has just taken a heart-wrenching turn. Only Paige, the eldest of the headstrong Merrill clan, is her usual self: arriving precisely on time with her well-adapted teens. Little does her family know that she, too, is facing personal struggles of her own.  No matter. With her family finally congregated under one seaside roof, Flossy is determined to steer her family back on course even as she prepares to reveal the fate of the summer house that everyone has thus far taken for granted: she’s selling it. The Merrill children are both shocked and outraged and each returns to memories of their childhoods at their once beloved summer house—the house where they have not only grown up, but from which they have grown away. With each lost in their respective heartaches, Clementine, Samuel, and Paige will be forced to reconsider what really matters before they all say goodbye to a house that not only defined their summers, but, ultimately, the ways in which they define themselves. Featuring McKinnon’s “sharp and evocative” (Kirkus Reviews) voice, this warm-hearted novel is perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Mary Alice Monroe."

First of all, how gorgeous is the house on the cover? Can I please rent it for a whole summer? Also, I have enjoyed McKinnon's other beach reads, The Lake Season and Mystic Summer, so I am looking forward to checking this out. What do you guys think?

7 comments:

  1. I really liked Mystic Summer and this sounds like the perfect summer book. I love the cover too. I wish I was there now! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too, Christina! Me too! Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  2. Gah. I miss our lake house. Sigh.

    ReplyDelete
  3. The cover is really pretty! It definitely puts you in a vacation kind of mood. I really want to go to a beach or a lake and just sit there for a few days. ^_^ I hope you enjoy this book when you get the chance to read it!

    Have a fabulous week, Christina. =)

    Check out my WoW post!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know, right? I want to visit there as well. Thanks for visiting, Alyssa!

      Delete
  4. It is a perfectly gorgeous house! I say we get a ton of bloggers to rent it together and bring all our best beach reads to the seaside for the summer!! How fun would that be?? :D

    ReplyDelete

I really appreciate your comments. Thank you!

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 
Design by: Designer Blogs