Tuesday, March 7, 2017

It's Not You, It's Me (20)


It's not you, it's me."  Some books just don't work for me, whereas other readers may have really enjoyed them.  This feature will be showcasing books that I never finished or reviewed; you know…...the dreaded DNF.



Bad Blood by Demitria Lunetta 


Goodreads says, "A girl discovers a family secret and a past full of magic that could both save her and put her in mortal danger in this suspenseful novel that’s perfect for fans of Katie Alender and Natasha Preston.  All sixteen-year-old Heather MacNair wants is to feel normal, to shed the intense paranoia she’s worn all year like a scratchy sweater. After her compulsion to self-harm came to light, Heather was kept under her doctor’s watchful eye. Her family thinks she’s better—and there’s nothing she wants more than for that to be true. She still can’t believe she’s allowed to spend her summer vacation as she always does: at her aunt’s home in Scotland, where she has lots of happy memories. Far away from all her problems save one: she can’t stop carving the Celtic knot that haunts her dreams into her skin.  Good friends and boys with Scottish accents can cure almost anything…except nightmares. Heather can’t stop dreaming about two sisters from centuries ago, twins Prudence and Primrose, who somehow seem tied to her own life. Their presence lurks just beneath the surface of her consciousness, sending ripples through what should be a peaceful summer. The twins might hold the key to putting Heather’s soul at rest…or they could slice her future deeper than any knife."
My Thoughts:
So, I was really looking forward to reading this book, especially since it's set in Scotland and involves magic, family secrets, etc, but I quickly came to realize this book isn't for me. The character is involved in self-harm, which I thought I'd be ok with, but after reading about it, I knew this book really wasn't my cup of tea.  It's just a little too dark for me.  



Something in Between by Melissa de la Cruz

Goodreads says, "Jasmine de los Santos has always done what’s expected of her. Pretty and popular, she’s studied hard, made her Filipino immigrant parents proud and is ready to reap the rewards in the form of a full college scholarship. And then everything shatters. A national scholar award invitation compels her parents to reveal the truth: their visas expired years ago. Her entire family is illegal. That means no scholarships, maybe no college at all and the very real threat of deportation. For the first time, Jasmine rebels, trying all those teen things she never had time for in the past. Even as she’s trying to make sense of her new world, it’s turned upside down by Royce Blakely, the charming son of a high-ranking congressman. Jasmine no longer has any idea where—or if—she fits into the American Dream. All she knows is that she’s not giving up. Because when the rules you lived by no longer apply, the only thing to do is make up your own."

My Thoughts:
I so very desperately wanted to like this book, because it deals with immigration, which is a timely and important topic; however, this book really didn't work for me.  My issue is with the writing style. I have had this problem with de la Cruz's writing in the past.  I think maybe a younger audience might enjoy this one more?


What do you guys think? Have you read these books? Let me know your thoughts. What's the latest book that you added to your did-not-finish pile?


4 comments:

  1. You probably saw my Instagram post about The Cursed Queen. I should follow your lead do something similar. Sigh.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Haha. Yes! I hear you. Sometimes it's just not worth it to trudge through a book that you aren't feeling when you have so many others to read! It's tough! Thank for visiting, Joy!

      Delete
  2. I quit reading De la Cruz's books years ago but wanted to give this a chance because of the synopsis. Unfortunately I was disappointed too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, me too. I usually struggle with her writing style, especially her dialogue. I am going to give her Alex & Eliza a try in the next few weeks. I hope it doesn't disappoint. Thanks for visiting, Christina. I am glad I am not alone in my disappointment with Something in Between.

      Delete

I really appreciate your comments. Thank you!

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 
Design by: Designer Blogs