Friday, March 24, 2017

If You Love Armchair Traveling


I absolutely love to travel. Before I had two little ones, I made it a point to travel as much as I could.  Obviously things have slowed down a bit for me and now most of my "traveling" is done while sitting on my favorite armchair or comfy sofa.  So, if you are like me and you love books that take you away somewhere tropical or to a beautiful European city, then check out my favorite books that feature some fantastic armchair traveling. Also, if you are interested in checking out my reviews for these books, most can be found here.


If You are Looking For A European Escapade:
(*= An absolute favorite!)


Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins - Paris, France*
Wanderlost by Jen Malone - All over Europe
Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch - Tuscany and Florence, Italy
The Girl in the Castle by Santa Montefiore - Ireland*
Jewels of the Sun by Nora Roberts - Ireland
Outlander by Diana Gabaldon - Scotland*
Ross Poldark by Winston Graham - Cornwall, England
The Royal We by Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan - England*
Sophomore Year is Greek to Me by Meredith Zeitlin - Greece
The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley - Scotland
Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter - Italian Coast*
I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith - Suffolk, England
Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert - Italy, India, and Bali
A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway - Paris, France
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows - England
Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly - Paris, France*


An Asian Adventure:
Seven Days of You by Cecilia Vinesse - Tokyo, Japan
Shanghai Girls by Lisa See - Shanghai, China
Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden - Japan
The Tea Planter's Daughter by Dinah Jefferies - Sri Lanka


That Old Hollywood Glamour:
The Hollywood Daughter by Kate Alcott
All the Stars in the Heavens by Adriana Trigiani
A Touch of Stardust by Kate Alcott



Somewhere Tropical and/or Beachy:
(*= An absolute favorite!)


Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer L. Holm - Key West, Florida*
The Summer of Sloane by Erin L. Schneider - Hawaii
Villa America by Liza Klaussmann - French Riviera*
Under a Dark Summer Sky by Vanessa Lafaye - Key West, Florida
A Single Breath by Lucy Clarke - Tasmania, Australia
A Spear of Summer Grass by Deanna Raybourn - Africa
On the Island by Tracy Garvis-Graves - Maldives*
Hemingway's Girl by Erika Robuck - Key West, Florida
Wanderlove by Kristin Hubbard - Various spots in Central America
Sweet Life by Mia King - Hawaii



A Fun Road Trip:
(*=An absolute favorite!)
Open Road Summer by Emery Lord - Road Trip*
Amy & Roger's Epic Detour by Morgan Matson - Road Trip*

So, what are some of your favorite books that feature some excellent armchair traveling? Let me know in the comments below.


10 comments:

  1. Great list! I see some that I'll have to add to my TBR. I love to armchair travel too but can't think of any at the moment that you haven't already mentioned.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Christina! I'm you see some new-to-you books that sound good. Thank for visiting.

      Delete
  2. Thanks so much for this, Christina! This is perfect as I've beeen compiling a list of books that venture outside the US for an upcoming "YA Summer Staycation" display at my library! :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're welcome. Thanks for checking it out, Becky. I'm glad I could help!

      Delete
  3. Hi Christina! I sure wish that I had read this list before heading out to Barnes and Noble earlier! Hope all is well, and I look forward to seeing you soon. We need to catch up! xoxo G.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks so much for visiting! I appreciate it. :)

      Delete
  4. It's not the same but it's more than affordable. :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Haha. It's definitely not the same, but easy on the budget, right? I can't wait to travel with my boys, but they are too young still....so this will have to do! :) Thanks for visiting, Joy!

      Delete
  5. What a fun post! I liked Love & Gelato a lot so I totally agree there! And I'd love to go to Greece so Sophomore Year is Greek To Me caught my eye. A Single Breath by Lucy Clark has me curious too since I read The Blue by her (and that would fit this list- set in the Phillipines and around Australia/ NZ)- I want to read more of her books.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes! I should have added The Blue to the list as well! I read that one, too! Good call, Greg! I have enjoyed Clark's books as well. Thanks for visiting!

      Delete

I really appreciate your comments. Thank you!

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 
Design by: Designer Blogs