Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday: The Lake Effect

This is a weekly meme hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine.  "Waiting on Wednesday" spotlights upcoming releases that I'm eagerly anticipating.

The Lake Effect by Erin McCahan
Pub. Date: July 11, 2017

Goodreads says, "Fans of Nick Hornby, Huntley Fitzpatrick, and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl will love this smart, funny, poignant YA romance and coming-of-age story—from the boy’s perspective  - lake effect | n.  The effect of any lake, especially the Great Lakes, in modifying the weather in nearby areas.  It’s the summer after his senior year, and driven, focused Briggs Henry is ready to leave behind his ex-girlfriend, his comically aggressive grandmother, and his parents’ money troubles for Lake Michigan and its miles of sandy beaches. He’s lined up a summer job working as a personal assistant and living in a gorgeous Victorian on the water—exactly the kind of house Briggs plans to buy his parents once he’s a multi-millionaire. But when he arrives, his boss, the eccentric Mrs. Bosic, tells him to get dressed for her funeral. Uh . . . It’s the first of many funerals they’ll attend this summer—to hilarious and eye-opening effect. Add to this a new set of friends-enemies - friends-again, and Abigail, the mysterious girl next door on whom Briggs’s charms repeatedly fail, and “the lake effect” is beginning to take on a whole new meaning.

This is a beach bag must have for summer of 2017.  Also, the author wrote one of my favorite novels, Love and Other Foreign Words, so I am excited to check this one out.  What do you guys think? 

4 comments:

  1. Sounds like a cute contemporary! Enjoy. :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm glad you agree, Joy. Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  2. Oooo, for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick. I really like Fitzpatrick's books. :D I will say - I'm definitely not a YA contemporary fan. But this one sounds good. I hope you enjoy this book when you get the chance to read it!

    Have a wonderful week, Christina. :)

    Check out my WoW post!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too. Fitzpatrick's books are great summertime reads. I'm glad you like the sound of this one, Alyssa. Thanks for dropping by.

      Delete

I really appreciate your comments. Thank you!

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 
Design by: Designer Blogs