Tuesday, August 16, 2016

If You Love Outlander....


Outlander by Diana Gabaldon is one of my favorite books and for me, it's not just about the time travel or even the fantastic setting of Scotland. It's about a really strong heroine and about relationships.  If you enjoy Outlander as much as me, here are some novels I recommend that have similar themes or characteristics:




1.  The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley - This one not only takes place in Scotland, but it also has two parallel story lines with one that takes place in Scotland in the 1700s.  I thoroughly enjoyed this historical tale. 






2.  The Cousins' War series by Philippa Gregory - George R.R. Martin often says that he got his idea for the Game of Thrones series from the real-life events surrounding the War of the Roses, so you know Gregory's take on this will keep you captivated. If you are looking for strong female heroines along with some romance, betrayal, and court intrigue, look no further than this epic series.  Also, I highly recommend the TV show called The White Queen (on Starz) for those looking for something similar to Outlander. The White Princess debuts on Starz next year!






3.  Ross Poldark by Winston Graham - I love this show on PBS, but the book is also fantastic as well. The time period is great, the setting is gorgoeous, and there's a beautiful romance as well.  I think fans of Diana Gabaldon would appreciate this series. Plus, season two of this TV show comes back on in September, a perfect escape from Droughtlander.






4.  Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas - Many YA series claim to be similar to Outlander, but I have yet to find one that is truly as captivating....that is until this series.  I think fans of Claire Fraser will love Celaena, who is also one of my favorite heroines. 






5.  Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly - Fans of historical fiction, will enjoy this YA tale about a modern girl who comes across a very old diary from the French Revolution and identifies with the author.  



So, are you a fan of Outlander? What novels do you recommend that are similar? Let me know in the comments below.


6 comments:

  1. I love The Winter Sea. Some of Susanna Kearsley's other novels would likely appeal to fans of Outlander as well. I wouldn't have guessed that Throne of Glass would be similar to Outlander. I hope to read it sometime this year. Also exciting to hear that Poldark will be on soon!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I need to read more Kearsley for sure. I have Mariana...I'll check out that one next. Yes, the heroine of Throne of Glass reminds me of Claire in that they are both strong willed and determined. They also both offer more than just the usual skills...Claire being a healer/doctor and Celaena being a warrior, etc. I think you'd like this series, Christina! Thanks for visiting.

      Delete
  2. YES!!!! Throne of Glass is a winner for sure, I adore that series. I'm a touch behind, so I have some catching up to do. I need to give Poldark a try, I've heard you talk about it a couple times and it sounds awesome!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too. I still need to get caught up on the last book of that series. I think you'd like Poldark, Jenny! Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  3. Revolution was so awesome! My first Jennifer Donnelly book! Also, I totally agree with Susan Kearsley's book. Have you read Firebird by hers? Such a wonderful Historical fiction!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, loved Revolution! Her A Northern Light is just as good, too. I have Firebird on my TBR list. I definitely want to read that as well. Thanks for visiting, Joy!

      Delete

I really appreciate your comments. Thank you!

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 
Design by: Designer Blogs