Friday, February 5, 2016

If You Love Romance...


It's that time of year again...Valentine's Day. That has me thinking about my favorite "romance" novels, but you see, I don't like traditional romance novels. I find most of them pretty cheesy, but I do love a great believable romance. So, if you are like me and you enjoy romance and swoon-worthy moments without it being overly cheesy or too much like a romance novel, then check out some of my favorites:




1.  Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen - The best couple hands down. Who doesn't love Mr. Darcy?

2.  The Fault in Our Stars by John Green - Hazel and Augustus still tug on my heartstrings. 


3.  The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks - Ok, so Sparks can be a little too much at times, but this story is pretty darn romantic.





4.  The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han (and the rest of the series!) - This is my favorite young adult series and even though there's a sort of love triangle at times, it's done really well.  Plus, it's very realistic.


5.  The Shoemaker's Wife by Adriana Trigiani - This sweeping tale is includes star-crossed lovers at their best.


6.  Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins - Swoon.  That's all I'll say. One of my favorite YA contemporary novels for sure.





7.  The Truth about Forever by Sarah Dessen - This is my favorite of Dessens and I love the characters of Macy and Wes.  You can't go wrong with this book.

8.  Outlander by Diana Gabaldon - Jamie Fraser. There's no need to say anything else. 


9.  Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell - I love the complicated relationship between Scarlett and Rhett. They are both so stubborn and sometimes I'm in the mood for an angsty-type of love story.





10.  Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery (and the rest of the series!) - Gilbert Blythe stole my heart back in the 80s. He still has it.

11.  Persuasion by Jane Austen - Oftentimes people over look this book, but I love the relationship between Captain Wentworth and Anne. This Austen novel shouldn't be missed.


12.  Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead - So, sometimes this series can be cheesy, but what is never cheesy is the relationship between Dimitri and Rose. Love it!



What are some of your favorite romances? Let me know in the comments below.  


10 comments:

  1. Love this list! I've read all but the Jenny Han series. I'm glad you included Persuasion on your list. That is one of my favorite Jane Austen novels but it is often overshadowed by P&P. I read Anne of Green Gables, Anne of Avonlea and Anne of the Island but I think the reason I love Anne and Gilbert is because of the movies! Claire and Jamie are favorites and I always liked Rose and Dmitri though I like the romance in the Bloodlines series more. The Shoemaker's Wife is wonderful and I loved how it was inspired by Trigiani's grandparents.

    My list would include North & South by Elizabeth Gaskell and Me Before You by Jojo Moyes.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I can't believe you haven't read the Jenny Han series. It is SO good. I think you'd love it!

      I still need to read North & South. It's been on my TBR list forever! I just added Me Before You to my TBR list, because I want to read it before the movie. The trailer looks fantastic. Thanks for visiting, Christina!

      Delete
  2. ROSE AND DIMITRI FOREVER CHRISTINA! Unless we're talking the movie version which absolutely horrified me with its cheesiness. Book Rose and Dimitri will forever be a favorite though, as will Anna and Etienne. And of course, romance isn't romance without Mr. Darcy!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know, right?! I loved them in the Vampire Academy series. I know, right?! The movie was pretty cheesy. Thanks for visiting, Jenny!

      Delete
  3. Wes & Macy! I adore them :D

    And I completely agree about Jenny Han's Summer books. I really need to reread those sometime, it's been too long since I last read them!

    Fabulous post :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too, Lea! I would love to reread the Summer series sometime this summer. Thanks for visiting, Lea!

      Delete
  4. You've got some great choices in this one! I always support a list supporting Vampire Academy. You're right--the relationship between Rose and Dmitri is not ever cheesy. Major heart eyes right there. I also looove Jenny Han's Summer series. I don't think it gets nearly enough attention.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree... Rose and Dimitri are a fantastic couple. I'm glad you agree about the Summer series....it's probably my favorite YA contemporary series ever. Thanks for visiting, Lefty.

      Delete
  5. Yes to Rose and Dmitri! Gilbert Blythe was my first book boyfriend.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too! I loved Gilbert back in the day...still do! Thanks for visiting!

      Delete

I really appreciate your comments. Thank you!

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 
Design by: Designer Blogs