Wednesday, July 8, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday: Persuasion

This is a weekly meme hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine.  "Waiting on Wednesday" spotlights upcoming releases that I'm eagerly anticipating.

Persuasion by Martina Boone
Pub. Date: October 27, 2015


Goodreads says, "Beautiful Creatures meets Gone with the Wind in the spellbinding second novel in the Heirs of Watson Island trilogy that “skillfully blends rich magic and folklore with adventure, sweeping romance, and hidden treasure” (Publishers Weekly, on Compulsion). Grieving the death of her godfather and haunted by her cousin Cassie’s betrayal, Barrie returns from a trip to San Francisco to find the Watson plantation under siege. Ghost-hunters hope to glimpse the ancient spirit who sets the river on fire each night, and reporters chase rumors of a stolen shipment of Civil War gold that may be hidden at Colesworth Place. The chaos turns dangerous as Cassie hires a team of archeologists to excavate beneath the mansion ruins. Because more is buried there than treasure. A stranger filled with magic arrives at Watson’s Landing claiming that the key to the Watson and Beaufort gifts—and the Colesworth curse—also lies beneath the mansion. With a mix of threats and promises, the man convinces Barrie and Cassie to cast a spell there at midnight. But what he conjures may have deadly consequences. While Barrie struggles to make sense of the escalating peril and her growing feelings for Eight Beaufort, it’s impossible to know whom to trust and what to fight for—Eight or herself. Millions of dollars and the fate of the founding families is at stake. Now Barrie must choose between what she feels deep in her heart and what will keep Watson’s Landing safe in this stunning addition to a series filled with “decadent settings, mysterious magic, and family histories rife with debauchery."
I thoroughly enjoyed Compulsion and can't wait to read this one. I loved the southern setting and can't wait to revisit Watson's Landing. What do you guys think? 

16 comments:

  1. It does sound like a book for fans of Beautiful Creatures and Gothic fiction. I think it would have crossover appeal too. I hope you enjoy it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think you'd enjoy it, Christina! It definitely took me by surprise last year and I liked it more than Beautiful Creatures. Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  2. I've not read the first book, but this does sound really good. I hope you get to read it soon. Thanks for sharing, and happy Wednesday! :)
    Here's my WoW

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're welcome! Thanks for visiting, Petra!

      Delete
  3. THE COVER IS SO PRETTY CHRISTINA! I'm really looking forward to this one as well:) I love a good Southern Gothic story:)

    Can't wait for your thoughts on A Million Miles Away too, I have that on my list to start soon!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know, right?! I love both this cover and the one for Compulsion. I just finished A Million Miles Away....a cute read. Thanks for visiting, Jenny!

      Delete
  4. I still need to read Compulsion. I've heard nothing but good things about it, so I'm really excited to start it. I have it, just need to read it now! I have until October. I suppose. Great pick!

    Michelle @ Michelle's Minions

    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really loved Compulsion...I hope you get to check it out soon! Thanks for visiting, Michelle!

      Delete
  5. I still haven't read Compulsion, but it's on my TBR list! I've heard a lot of positive things about it though, which makes me excited :D I hope you enjoy Persuasion!
    Ariel @ Bookish Confessions

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you get to read it soon, Ariel. I loved the setting of the novel. Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  6. Replies
    1. I know, right?! I love the cover for book one as well...one of my favorites! Thanks for visiting!

      Delete
  7. I need to start this series! Southern gothic settings are always so interesting to me---perhaps because I've never been to the south! :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love Southern Gothic settings as well. Thanks for visiting, Becky!

      Delete
  8. I adore the covers of this series!

    Check out our WOW & learn how to win an ARC copy of SIX OF CROWS!

    Leydy @ OUaT

    ReplyDelete
  9. I haven't read Compulsion yet. But this one sounds good! Enjoy!

    ReplyDelete

I really appreciate your comments. Thank you!

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 
Design by: Designer Blogs