Tuesday, July 21, 2015

If You Love Jane Austen.....


I love, love Jane Austen. When I visited her house in England last year, it was a dream come true for me. Over the years, I have read some really great novels inspired by Jane Austen or in the same vein. So, if you love Jane Austen, here are some of my recommendations for some read-alikes:




Jane Austen's First Love by Syrie James - This is an adorable glimpse into young Jane Austen's teenage years.

Ross Poldark by Winston Graham - Although this has a lot more adventure than some of Austen's novels, it was very reminiscent of Austen.  I thoroughly enjoyed this historical novel and did I mention there is a PBS show based on it? It's fantastic!

The Secret of Pembrooke Park by Julie Klassen - This book reads like a Jane Austen novel and other Regency works. It's quiet, slow in all the right areas, and the romance is sweet. 






Austenland by Shannon Hale - This book had me laughing out loud. A Jane Austen fan goes to an Austen-themed resort with the hopes of finding a Mr. Darcy. You have to see the movie, too!

Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler - I read this one many years ago (before I had this blog) and I loved the concept of falling into another time period, such as Regency England. 

Rude Awakenings of a Jane Austen Addict by Laurie Viera Rigler - This is a continuation of the above story...very entertaining!



 

The Jane Austen Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler - A book club solely dedicated to Jane Austen? Sign me up.  It examines how Austen's themes are timeless.

Jane Austen in Scarsdale: Or Love, Death and the SATs by Paula Marantz Cohen - This book deals with a high school counselor and an old love reentering her life.  It is inspired by Persuasion.

Prom & Prejudice by Elizabeth Eulberg - An adorable YA modern adaptation of Pride and Prejudice



 

I Was Jane Austen's Best Friend by Cora Harrison - This is one of my favorite Austen inspired young adult novels. I wish more people could read this novel! I adored it and I want to read the sequel, Jane Austen Stole My Boyfriend. 

The Jane Austen Handbook by Margaret Sullivan  - This is the perfect companion to Jane Austen's novels. It's chock full of interesting tidbits.

I also became obsessed with The Lizzie Bennet Diaries on YouTube. If you haven't seen it and you are a Jane fan, you MUST! Warning: it's highly addictive!


But there are so many other novels that I am dying to read. Here's my personal to-read list of Jane-inspired/similar novels:

The Lost Memoirs of Jane Austen by Syrie James
My Jane Austen Summer by Cindy Jones
What Matters in Jane Austen by John Mullan
Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson
North & South by Elizabeth Gaskell
Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James
Becoming Jane Austen by John Spence
Jane Austen Made Me Do It by various authors


Janeites, do you have any other recommendations for me? Let me know in the comments below. I am always on the look out for a good Jane Austen-esque novel.  

10 comments:

  1. I love your list and have read many of the books. North and South is a favorite. I recommend The Pursuit of Mary Bennet by Pamela Mingle. Also Pemberley Ranch by Jack Caldwell (a retelling of P&P set in post Civil War Texas).

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am dying to read North and South....then I can finally watch the movie! I will have to add these to my TBR list. Thanks for the recommendations, Christina!

      Delete
  2. Haha, this is especially appropriate today b/c Misty at The Book Rat announced Austen in August today! <3

    I need to read more Austen-themed books ^^;;;

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I participated in Austen in August a few years ago.....so much fun! Thanks for reminding me, Bonnie!

      Delete
  3. Austenland is the only one of these I've read, Christina; it was so great! There are so many selections that look wonderful; thanks for sharing this list! Also, my MIL has confessed that she is totally in love with the Poldark TV show; I told her about the books and now she is super excited! She loves historical fiction; I'm going to forward her the link to your blog. Hope you're having a great day!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Austenland is so much fun, isn't it? Thanks so much, Tara! I appreciate it. Thanks for dropping by.

      Delete
  4. Love this compilation! I read four books out of the eleven shown. Not too shabby, eh? I'll have to check out the rest - especially Poldark. So popular!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Not bad! Poldark is a lot of fun, especially if you are a fan of the TV shows too. Thanks for visiting, Joy!

      Delete
  5. I plan to re-read the Poldark books and am loving the new series. I lived in Cornwall for many years - a beautiful and rugged place.
    Ann

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am hoping to read book two in the Poldark series...am really enjoying the show on PBS as well. I can't imagine living in Cornwall...it must have been gorgeous! I hope to visit next time I am over in England. Thanks for visiting!

      Delete

I really appreciate your comments. Thank you!

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 
Design by: Designer Blogs